“DIY” Fancy Sweatshirt…Hit or Miss?

20131107-100442.jpg

20131107-100509.jpg

20131107-100523.jpg

I’m not sure about this one, guys. In the warmer months, I’ve been known to belt a skirt as a fancy strapless shirt, but throw a sweatshirt in there, and I’m all like, “Hmm…” I think I liked it better in person – the camera seems to have made me look a little frumpier…which makes sense, as I am wearing a giant sweatshirt AND a skirt. I sort of backed myself into a corner with what to remix. Couldn’t use the jeans again, didn’t want to wear the boots or necklace again, and I couldn’t find the belt. Sure I could have just paired the sweatshirt with different pants or thrown a layer on or something, or…I don’t know…just worn the skirt AS a SKIRT, but I always have to just make things complicated.

If you were wondering, I was sort of kind of trying to channel this Converse One Star sweatshirt from Target (the grey one). But it seems I failed. Or…I don’t know; I guess it could be worse. We’ll call this mediocre. That’s what I strive for on a day to day basis anyway.

What do you think? Do you have wear articles of clothing in a wacky way like this? Did I miss the boat?

sweatshirt: Forever21 / another similar option (see another option and see a more normal way to wear it here)
jeans: Elle / similar
skirt: Target / similar
shoes: Target / similar
necklace: Francesca’s / similar
belt: Target / similar
lip color: Revlon Lip Butter in Tutti Frutti

20131107-103551.jpg

Tagged: , , , ,

2 thoughts on ““DIY” Fancy Sweatshirt…Hit or Miss?

  1. Samantha @ Sam ipsa Loquitur November 8, 2013 at 3:07 pm Reply

    I don’t know, I kind of dig it! I see where you’re coming from, but I think it’s pretty cute. And if you felt good wearing it I call that a win, because I wear things I love in person all the time that don’t look as good in pictures.

    • quirkybritches November 8, 2013 at 3:09 pm Reply

      Aw, thanks, Samantha! I agree; the camera isn’t ALWAYS one’s friend. πŸ™‚

      By the way, I tried to comment on your rockin’ vest and haircolor on your latest post, but everytime I hit ‘submit,’ nothing happened and my comment just disappeared. So, if by chance, they went through, sorry for commenting a zillion times!

Leave a Reply

