{{My First Ever}} 30×30: The Whole Shebang

I’m going to be honest: I’m SO glad this is over. It was fun for the most part, but I’m happy to be back to wearing whatever I want. I feel like my poor closet has been so neglected this past month. As promised, here are what I feel are the pros and cons of participating in the 30×30 challenge:

Pros
– Fewer items to choose from (usually) means less time to figure out what to wear. Usually I can go through six different choices before I decide on something, but with 30×30, you already have less to choose from, so getting dressed typically was faster.
– I got to see more of my creative side. Sometimes I did get a little lazy and put together some pretty simple outfits, but most of the time, I had to use my little brain and come up with combinations I probably would not have thought of ordinarily.
– I was forced to layer. Why just wear a sweater when you can wear an oxford under a sweater? Instead of just a tunic, how about knotting a chambray over the tunic?
– It does show you that you don’t NEED a large closet.
– It forced me to get dress even on days when I didn’t want to leave the house.

Cons
– On the other hand, maybe I don’t NEED a large closet (and I commend those who don’t), but I want one. I want lots of choices.
– It got boring. I get bored with a lot of things: nail color, hair color, the book I’m reading ,etc., and clothes are no exception. I kind of got to the point where I was like, “If I have to wear these black jeans ONE more time…” Boring.
– It came to a point to where getting dressed was no longer fun. Instead of, “What can I create today?” towards the end, I started feeling like, “Uh, how can I wear this red flannel again?” or “Guess I’ll just throw on the polka dot jeans….again.”
– I failed at the no shopping thing. A lot.
– Simply, when I tell myself I can’t do something, I want to that much more.
– I didn’t really feel like I learned anything new about myself in terms of clothing. I noticed patterns, but they were things I really already knew.

So, for me, it appears that this challenge had more cons than pros. I do not think I will be doing this again anytime soon, and if I did, it would have to be warmer weather. The extreme cold I think is one of the things that turned me off just a bit. Let’s go ahead and look at all the outfits I came up with. Some were winners, and some definitely weren’t.

20140201-151831.jpg

20140201-151848.jpg

20140201-151900.jpg

20140201-151924.jpg

20140201-151939.jpg

20140201-151955.jpg

20140201-152005.jpg

20140201-152017.jpg

20140201-152447.jpg

20140201-152453.jpg

Favorites: 2, 10, 15, 17, 18, 28
Non-favs: 1, 5, 8

I was going to do an analysis of sorts, but I really just want to get on my with life. In a nutshell, here’s what I’ve learned:

1. Two of my least favorite outfits involved that floral dress. I think it’s time to get rid of it.
2. This winter, I’ve been loving thick tights or leggings, a short skirt, a knotted top, and an infinity scarf. It’s just an easy look to throw together, especially for my job.
3. I forced myself to wear heels more often than I normally do, just to get some use out of the red heels and to have more variety, which has resulted in my wanting to wear heels more often all the time.
4. I barely wore the brown cardigan. I think this is because it was the least warm out of my three cardis.
5. I’m not afraid to mix neutrals.
6. I need to either mix up my necklaces or look through some old jewelry. I definitely play favorites.
7. I really, really dislike outfit 8.
8. Though I don’t care too much for outfit 5, it’s been one of my most pinned outfits. I guess it’s true that one woman’s “trash” is another woman’s treasure. Guess you never know what other people will like, which makes me think maybe it’s not so bad?

Well, that wraps up my first 30×30! Thanks for tagging along!

Tagged: , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “{{My First Ever}} 30×30: The Whole Shebang

  1. BeingZhenya February 1, 2014 at 3:43 pm Reply

    Oh wow! What a challenge! I definitely don’t think I would’ve been able to do it! I think I am going to do a week of just showing my outfit, and that’s about it πŸ™‚
    ~Zhenya

    • quirkybritches February 1, 2014 at 3:45 pm Reply

      You said it! I commend blogs that put up outfit photos EVERY single day! I’m going back to 2-3 outfits a week, plus other content. I think that’s more my jam. πŸ™‚

      • BeingZhenya February 1, 2014 at 3:50 pm

        I can see how it gets old really quickly! But hey you did it, and I actually liked the floral dress πŸ™‚

      • quirkybritches February 1, 2014 at 9:26 pm

        Hey, thanks! It’s one of those dresses that I’ve had FOREVER.

Leave a Reply

