Try It Tuesday 01 I Flourless Clean Pancakes

photo (1)Let’s Be Friends:  Instagram  I  Twitter  I  Pinterest  I  Facebook  I  Bloglovin  I  YouTube

My first “Try It Tuesday” involves something for YOU to try! I’ve been meaning to blog about this recipe for awhile now, and today seems like the perfect day to do so. I give you my Flourless Clean Pancakes!

photo (2)

I got the inspiration for these pancakes from Blogilates, but I have revised and tweaked the recipe many times before finally settling on a dish I love. The original recipe calls for protein powder, but I decided I didn’t love that idea, so I finally perfected the perfect balance of ground oat “flour” and brown rice flour. Because of the oats, these aren’t 100% gluten free, but you could certainly sub GF oats, and they would be!

First, slice a banana in half. You will only need half for this recipe, so I suggest wrapping the unused half in plastic wrap to save for later, or just eat it! Mash your banana with a fork in a medium sized bowl. Obviously, the riper the banana, the easier it will be to mash.

clean pancakes banana

Next, gather up the rest of your ingredients!

clean pancakes ingredients

Next, you’ll need to measure your flours. Here’s the tricky part: I actually use a food scale to measure out the flours in grams. Since the original recipe called for a scoop of protein powder, and my protein powder scoop holds 30 grams, that’s how I came up with how much flour to use. I add just a little bit more egg whites than the original recipe calls for, so I use just a little bit more flour to balance out the viscosity of the batter. Therefore, I use 17 grams of oat flour and 17 grams of brown rice flour. Don’t have oat flour? Just blend rolled oats in a blender or food processor like I do. Don’t have a food scale? I’ve put each flour in a 1/4 measuring cup below for reference. Because each flour has a different weight and texture, the volumes are different. Also, you could certainly just use all oat flour or all brown rice flour; I just like to use both.

photo 3

Once you mix your flours with the banana, the mixture is going to become super powdery. In fact, you won’t even be able to mix it all together. This is normal.

clean pancakes banana and flour

For the egg whites, I add just a hair under 1/2 a cup. I’m not sure why this amount; this just seems to give me the best consistency. I wanted to add more egg whites than the original recipe because I wanted more protein. Half a cup seemed like too much. Just like with the flours, once you add the egg whites, the batter is going to be very liquid-y. That’s when you add the cinnamon and the psyllium husk. If you’re not familiar with psyllium husk, you can find it at Trader Joes. It is a soluble fiber that helps aid in digestion and to provide a feeling of fullness. You could substitute ground flax seed or just more flour if you don’t have psyllium husk or just don’t want to use it.

photo 2

Meanwhile, turn a large skillet on your stove to medium heat.

Now to sweeten the deal: add a splash of vanilla extract (about half a teaspoon) and 4 drops of vanilla liquid stevia. Liquid stevia can be found at most grocery stores; I got mine at Whole Foods. As a substitution, you could use half a packet of any sweetener of your choice or about a 1/2 teaspoon of real sugar.

Finally, you will add almond milk to thin out the batter to your desired consistency. I start with two tablespoons and then go from there until it looks about like this: drippy but still holds together.

clean pancakes batter

Note: Make sure you are ready to use your batter somewhat immediately. I have found that the longer it sits, the more it thickens. If this happens, just add a bit more almond milk.

Grease your skillet with the oil of your choice. I use spray olive oil. Then, pour batter onto the skillet in small amounts, until your get the shape and/or number of pancakes your desire. I usually get about 4 medium sized pancakes. Let pancakes cook for about 2-3 minutes and then flip for about another minute or so. These don’t take very long, but the good thing is, if you happen to “overcook” them (aka start cooking and then forget about them), they’re fine. I’ve never burnt them! If you’d like a denser pancake, then cook longer.

image

I think it’s important to note that these are not going to turn out the like fluffy glorious pancakes of your childhood. They’re flourless after all. These are going to turn out slightly thicker and denser than perhaps what you are used to, but they are still delicious!

Once finished, top with whatever you desire! Usually I just spread some almond butter on them, but you could add chopped bananas, the traditional butter and syrup, or I’ve even spread butter and jam on them! The possibilities are endless.

clean pancakes with almond butter and banana

So good! I seriously eat these almost every day for breakfast!

clean pancakes with almond butter and bananas

Here is the actual recipe, adapted from Blogilates’ “Low Carb, Low Fat, High Protein Pancake Recipe“:

Ingredients:

1/2 banana, mashed

17 g oat flour (just under 1/4 C)

17 g brown rice flour (about 1/8 C)

1/2 C (just under) egg whites

1 TBL psyllium husk

1 tsp cinnamon

1/2 tsp vanilla extract

4 drops vanilla liquid stevia

2 TBL almond milk (or more, depending on desired consistency)

In a medium bowl, mash banana. Add oat flour and brown rice powder; mix with banana until a crumbly paste forms. Pour in egg whites; mix. Add cinnamon, psyllium husk, vanilla extract, and stevia. Mix. Batter will be quite thick. Add almond milk until desired consistency is reached. Heat a large skillet to medium heat and grease skillet. Pour pancake batter onto skillet in roughly 1/3 C increments. Cook pancakes for 2-3 minutes and then flip. Cooked sides should be golden brown. Cook other side for an additional 1-2 minutes. Top with your favorite pancake topping!

I hope you try these, and that they are as delicious to you as they are to me! Let me know in the comments if you try them and what you think of them – also, let me know if you have any questions! Enjoy!

Tagged: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

