QB Eats Food: Bocadillas in the Financial District

Welcome to what I hope will be a regular series here! Since I now live in a mecca of delicious restaurants, I thought I should highlight some of them! Indianapolis is seriously starting to thrive in the foodie world (I mean…I worked at one of the top places in the city…no, seriously 🙂 ), but I had gotten to the point where I had exhausted almost all of my options (though there are still a couple of places I never got to try…I’m looking at you, Cerulean and Black Market…until next time!). Therefore, I’m super excited that there are so many fabulous places to try here!

Like I said in my last post, the first place we tried was Mamacita, but I didn’t even think of posting about it; I’m sure I’ll be back there though, so one day! My first official SF restaurant review is an adorable tapas place near our hotel in the Financial District: Bocadillos.

*Please excuse my iPhone photos. 🙂

bocadillos

As I think I’ve said before, I’m the type of person who looks at a menu and just wants to order everything. Because of this, tapas/small plates restaurants are perfect for me because I can try many different dishes. The first things I noticed when we sat down were the cute little details of the restaurant, starting with the lights.

bocadillos light

And plates and a jar of silverware on each table.

bocadillos silverwareSeriously genius for a place with multiple dishes constantly being brought to the table. Since I was dining at a Spanish tapas restaurant, I felt I would be remiss if I didn’t order a Spanish wine. Never mind the fact that tempranillo is already one of my favorites.

bocadillos wineThere are so many tasty looking things on the menu, but we decided to start off with four items and then go from there if we were still hungry. We started off with the kale salad, complete with avocado, lemon vinaigrette, and pepitos. We both agreed that a bit of avocado was needed with each bite to help cut the bitterness of the kale; otherwise, it was very good!

bocadillos saladNext, came the patatas bravas with a romesco sauce and the Hamburguesa, which basically means a burger and fries.

bocadillos fries

bocadillos burgerThe fries were good – they were crispy on the outside and soft and yummy on the inside – but the spicy seasoning paired with the spicy sauce was just a bit too much for us. I powered through and ate more than Brett did, but towards the end, I just had to stop because my mouth couldn’t take the heat anymore. Next time I may ask them to go easy on the seasoning. The burger, however, was SO GOOD. It was so flavorful! It was essentially a slider, so we each only got about two bites, but those two bites were divine. I lobbied to order another but was shot down.

To finish, we had the bavette steak with chimichurri and black pepper.

bocadillos steakThere’s a restaurant in Indy where we would always go to split a chimicurri steak, but Bocadillos’ chimichurri is way better, in my opinion. The steak was tender, and the chimichurri had just the right amount of bite to it. While this was certainly not the best steak I’ve ever had, it was seriously tasty.

We decided to forgo dessert, but of course, twenty minutes later, when we got back to the hotel, my sweet tooth won over, so we ordered a brownie sundae in the bar. Boy, did we get a brownie.

bocadillos sundeau

That brownie was seriously bigger than it looks in the picture! We couldn’t finish the whole thing, but it was good!

So back to Bocadillos: the atmosphere was pleasant (though it wasn’t very busy when we went – I’d be curious to go when crowded), and the food was delicious. Our server was very friendly and attentive. The only minor complaint I had was that the busser was almost too goodThat may sound like a weird complaint, but I’m not exaggerating when I say we had our water refilled every couple of minutes, sometimes only needing a half inch of water to fill the glass. Obviously, I’d rather have attentive service than nonexistent service, but it got to the point where I set my glass at the edge of the table so that he would stop reaching across me every three minutes and interrupting us. I suppose if that’s the only negative, then I’ll take it! 🙂

All in all, I really enjoyed my experience at Bocadillos. As I write more of these QB Eats Food reviews, I may come up with some sort of rating system. For now though, suffice it to say I would certainly recommend Bocadillos, and I will definitely be back!

 

 

 

Tagged: , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “QB Eats Food: Bocadillas in the Financial District

  1. Shani May 11, 2014 at 1:33 pm Reply

    Oh my gosh that brownie looks amazing!! i want it now!

    Shani xo
    Style Honey Co-Founder
    http://www.stylehoney.com

Leave a Reply

