That Time I Got Locked on the Roof and My Life Was a Sitcom

First, let’s look at this amazing dress…

eshakti gold dress blazer platform heels

eshakti gold dress blazer statement necklace

eshakti gold dress tribal clutch seychelles heels

eshakti gold dress blazer statement necklace tribal clutch

eshakti gold dress blazer statement necklace tribal clutch2Let’s Be Friends: Instagram // Twitter // Pinterest // Facebook // Bloglovin // YouTube

If you read any fashion/style blogs whatsoever, then you’ve probably heard of eShakti. I’ve seen their clothes on many a blogger, and I had always thought the concept was pretty intriguing; therefore, when they offered to send me an item of my choice, I didn’t hesitate to say yes. If, for some reason, I am the only style blog you read (I’m sorry), and you’ve never heard of eShakti, here’s the rundown: they are an India-based company that specializes in women’s clothing with an emphasis on vintage/retro styles. They also offer complete customized apparel. Basically, you can choose your normal size, or you can enter your measurements and they’ll create the apparel custom for your body, perfect for girls (like me) who don’t always fit into the the little box of most fashion sizes.

I have to say, this dress isn’t my normal bag, but I decided when choosing an item that I would think outside the box a bit and choose something I wouldn’t normally go for. I’m so glad I did: this dress made me feel somewhat glamorous! I loved wearing it, and it’s always nice to add another pretty dress to my closet. And the fit? A dream. Seriously. I was a little nervous since I had chosen a maxi dress, but it fits wonderfully, and it’s well-made, too. My only complaint is that the dress is probably too long for me to wear sandals with because I’d love to dress it down. I’m sure I can get it hemmed at some point, if it’s really an issue for me. Another small thing, which you can barely see, so again, not really an issue, is there’s a snap on the bodice that lets you wear it a little more modestly if you choose. Now, I don’t consider myself to have a large bust, but there’s no way I could wear the neckline snapped – it just wasn’t happening. Not a problem, as I’m fine with it unsnapped, but now I have this visible snap on the neckline. I’ll remove it, and it won’t be a problem, but it’s just a small thing that bugged me. Other than those two minor things, I’m very happy with my dress!

Now to the title of this post (and keep scrolling because I have an offer for you at the end!): these photos were actually taken on the roof of my new apartment building. Amazing view, right? I can’t wait to sit up there and read a book! Anyway, I thought the roof would make an awesome location to shoot this dress, so Brett and I trekked upstairs. Upon entering the landing to the roof access, I noticed a sign that said, “Keep door closed at all times.” Not being much of a rule breaker, I shut the door behind me. Then realized it had locked. None of our keys worked, and neither of us had brought our phones with us. Of course, it was cold. And windy. Eventually, we saw someone who lives in our building, and he let us in. I’m pretty sure we reenacted a scene from every sitcom from the ’90s.

Like what you see at eShakti? From now until July 2, use the code BRITCHES to receive 10% off your order! Pair this with the $25 off you get for being a new customer, and you’ve got yourself a sweet little deal. If you like the dress I’m wearing, unfortunately, it’s currently out of stock (though it may come back!), but I found this dress that’s similar; you can customize it to make it longer if that’s your thing.

dress (similar option) // heels (in different colors) // similar blazer // somewhat similar clutch // similar necklace // lips: Nyx Soft Matte Lip Cream in “San Paulo” mixed with Revlon Lip Butter in “Candy Apple

*Dress provided c/o eShakti.

<<Linking up with Just Another Smith and Literate & Stylish>>

Tagged: , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “That Time I Got Locked on the Roof and My Life Was a Sitcom

  1. Andi June 22, 2014 at 4:55 pm Reply

    oh my gosh – stuck on the roof! What an unexpected adventure! 🙂

Leave a Reply

