8 Week Hot Body Challenge: Week 1 Update

Last week I mentioned I would be starting a meal plan to sort of “re set” and get back on track. After my Vegas trip at the end of September, I sort let of myself go. Surprisingly, I hadn’t really gained any weight, but all my healthy habits flew out the window. Honestly, I’m not that great at following guided meal plans, but with this one, I’m giving myself the freedom to make (healthy) tweaks as necessary. The mealsย doย get a bit repetitive throughout the week (though I was fine with it for week one), so if I get tired of something, I’m fine with having the leftovers of another day, subbing something else, etc.

[[The Food]]

IMG_0846 IMG_0847

For the first week, not too shabby. The old egg and banana pancakes are not new to me, but I’ve definitely perfected them (dash of cinnamon, splash of vanilla extract, pinch of baking powder, splash of almond milk), and now they’re one of my favorite breakfasts (topped with almond butter, of course). I had actually been eating egg white oats (thanks for my friend Lauryn) in the weeks leading up to this, so I was happy to see I could continue. I’ve starting making them on the stove and adding a little almond milk – soooo good! The meals have actually been pretty filling. I mean, meatballs, sweet potatoes, and cauliflower all for lunch seems like a feast to me, but it really did keep me fuller longer, so no complaints.

[[The Workouts]]

So, um, I only worked out Monday-Wednesday. Lame, I know. To be honest, I think I started to have sugar withdrawals because I just sort of felt like crap. That in turn made me very unmotivated to work out. I will say though that it’s Sunday night, and my butt is STILL somewhat sore from MONDAY’S workout! Once I actually get my butt in gear, then I’ll have more to report on this end.

[[How I’m Feeling]]

For the first few days, I followed the meal plan to a T, so like I said, I started to feel the miserable effects of sugar withdrawal and, inadvertently, caffeine withdrawal. I’m not trying to quit coffee, but I am trying to limit it. However, on Thursday, I ate a Quest Bar (straying from meal plan, but I don’t mind), and on Friday and Saturday I had a few drinks, so there’s sugar right there. As far as energy goes, it sort of comes and goes in spurts. I’ll wake up super tired (as usual), then I’ll eat and feel great and then I’ll just feel sort of “blah.” I’m taking this all as an adjustment period though.

[[General Thoughts]]

So far so good. I’ve lost a couple of pounds, which I know is just water weight. I took measurements at the start, and I’ll take my measurements again tomorrow (Monday). I know some people say not to worry about those things until “the end,” but it’s interesting for me to track from week to week. If I don’t make much progress one week, then it allows me to look back and reflect and see if I can pinpoint the problem. Just the analyst in me. ๐Ÿ™‚ Onto week 2! You can find more info here.

Tagged: , , , ,

2 thoughts on “8 Week Hot Body Challenge: Week 1 Update

  1. Sari November 17, 2014 at 1:06 pm Reply

    I have nominated you for the One Lovely Blog Award. I love your blog and am a fellow Midwest blogger! http://sarissweetlife.blogspot.com/2014/11/one-lovely-blog-award.html

Leave a Reply

