Layering Tips for Days When You Can’t Get Dressed

Happy New Year!

This time of year always makes me feel a little ‘blah’ about everything (see last year’s post on the winter drearies), and even though I live in a more mild city now, I’ve been looking to Pinterest for some layering inspiration. I thought I’d go back and look at some of my past layered looks and share the love! None of this is probably going to be anything you haven’t seen on a million other blogs, but sometimes it’s nice to get some visuals as well as yet another perspective from a stranger on the internet.

quirky britches layering tips
Instagram // Twitter // Pinterest // Facebook // Bloglovin // Poshmark //YouTube

We’ll start off with an easy one…

layering summer tank and chunky cardigan

I’ve never been one to shy away from wearing something that’s not quite seasonally appropriate, and when I’m really in a slump, sometimes getting out my brightest, summery-est tank does wonders. Simply layer on a chunky cardigan that is seasonally appropriate, and suddenly your easy breezy tank is winterized!

layering sweater and oxford

For a preppier look, this layering trick is also pretty simple. Instead of just wearing a sweater, slip one on over an oxford shirt. The pop of collar, sleeve, and hem just add interest to your outfit. Plus warmth. Are you sensing a theme here?

Layering chambray sweater vest

On this particular day, I started off with our old friend: the sweater layered over the chambray oxford; however, because this particular chambray isn’t very long, I felt like it needed something more to take the focus off the awkward length. I added this vest, and it was perfect for a warmer fall day!

layering tee oxford cardiganSometimes I don’t mind layering a short-sleeve tee over an oxford, but this particular tee is more cropped and boxy; therefore, it just didn’t look right. I belted it at the waist, and it looked better, but still not quite right. Adding a cardigan was the ticket. Did I need the tee in order to create a cute outfit? Absolutely not, but oxford and cardigan? Been there, done that, bought the layered on the t-shirt. I guess I was just wanting more that day, and that’s what makes layering so fun!

Layering Cropped Sweatshirt TunicMore Examples: 1 // 2 // 3

Headless mirror selfies aren’t always the most glamorous pictures for blogs, but I had to include one of my favorites: layering a cropped sweater, sweatshirt, or even just crop top over a longer, more tunic-like top. Bonus points for cinching that waist with a belt. You can also knot a tank or tee at the waist.

layering oxford tee blazer

Very similar to the oxford + tee + cardigan, but this look has more structure. You can wear it casually with jeans or even with a pencil skirt to bring something unexpected yet still polished to the office.

Finally, one of my crazier get ups…

layering skirt sweatshirt belt

Now, if you want to get really creative, you can start layering items on the wrong parts of your body. When I first posted this outfit, I very unsure about it, and I even asked you guys what you thought. I even pondered deleting the post, but it ultimately has become one of my most re-pinned outfits on Pinterest, and, as a result, a great traffic driver. Crazy, huh? I’m going to be honest though, for that post, I published the most flattering pictures. The sweatshirt was rather bulky, so it probably wasn’t the most flattering choice. In retrospect, I would choose a sweatshirt that’s a bit more fitted.

So, like I said, nothing earth shattering, but hopefully at least one of these layering examples will help you on a day when you’re sitting at your computer, in a towel, avoiding your closet. Not that I’ve been there or anything.

What’s your favorite layering trick?

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

